Arctic Council

Linked with Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme AMAP, and with Arctic Climate Impact Assessment ACIA.

The Arctic is an enormous area, sprawling over one sixth of the earths’ landmass; more than 30 million km2 and twenty-four time zones. It has a population of about four million, including over thirty different indigenous peoples and dozens of languages. The Arctic is a region of vast natural resources and a very clean environment compared with most areas of the world … (about 1/2).

Meetings; News; Working Groups; Documentation; Maps and Photos; Member States; Observers; Links;
Permanent Participants (find link to each down under about);
Address: Arctic Council Secretariat, Polarmiljøsenteret, 9296 Tromsø, Norway;

About 2/2: … The Ottawa Declaration of 1996 formally established the Arctic Council as a high level intergovernmental forum to provide a means for promoting cooperation, coordination and interaction among the Arctic States, with the involvement of the Arctic Indigenous communities and other Arctic inhabitants on common Arctic issues, in particular issues of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic. 

Member States of the Arctic Council are Canada, Denmark (including Greenland and the Faroe Islands), Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russian Federation, Sweden, and the United States of America.

In addition to the Member States, the Arctic Council has the category of Permanent Participants. This category is open equally to Arctic organizations of Indigenous peoples with a majority of Arctic Indigenous constituency representing:

  • a single Indigenous people resident in more than one Arctic State; or
  • more than one Arctic Indigenous people resident in a single Arctic State.

The category of Permanent Participation is created to provide for active participation of, and full consultation with, the Arctic Indigenous representatives within the Arctic Council. This principle applies to all meetings and activities of the Arctic Council.

The following organizations are Permanent Participants of the Arctic Council:

* see also the ICC-NGO

Arctic Council Chairmanship: … (full text about).

Comments are closed.